24 Like Never Before Part 2

As we approached 88 mph (in an 80 mph speed limit zone), I rolled down my window and let the breeze touch my skin. I blasted sad music and let it touch my soul. Then, as night time began to fall, I cracked my window about a quarter of the way open and allowed my eyes to gently close, drifting in and out of sleep. Magnificent!

I had never been to Texas before, so I was looking forward to seeing what the state had to offer. I must admit, Southwest Texas is where most of the magic is. My mother and I went to a small town in Texas called Marfa… a hidden gem for sure. Marfa is on the border of Mexico and it is an artist colony with exquisite scenery. The town is surrounded by desert sand, concrete grounds, unique architecture — stained glass, and small gas stations. To me, it looked as if I were in the movie “Cars.” It also felt as if I were the only person in the small town. Being in a place that I am unfamiliar with, yet have someone familiar with me, is what brings me great joy.

During the time we were there, we ended up staying at a very chic hotel called “Paisano,” which happens to have a lot of history behind it. In 1955, the movie Giant was filmed here, staring Elizabeth Taylor and James Dean. When I found this out, I had an entirely new appreciation for where I was resting my pretty little head that night.

My mom and I went to a bar called ‘Planet Marfa,’ which was highly recommended by some folks we met at dinner. This particular bar was located between a bunch of trees, overlooking the desert that went on for hundreds of miles. As we walked up to the bar, a nice gentleman approached me and asked me what my favorite drink was. I giggled and told him, “Mike’s Hard Lemonade.” Not quite fully understanding the reason behind why he had asked me, he kindly bought me a Mikes Hard Lemonade. I don’t think he will ever understand how appreciative I was of that kind gesture. I thanked him and we went our separate ways.

I climbed a spiral staircase to a wooden platform, which fortunately for my mother and I, only fit two people. I met my mom at the top and we talked. We chatted about a lot of things. We talked about life and who we wanted to be remembered as after we passed. We drank our beverages and watched the beautiful sun as it set across the desert sky. What an unforgettable night!

The sound of birds chirping peacefully woke me up the next morning. The bright sun beamed through the curtains and I opened my eyes as a small grin spread across my face.  “This can’t be real,” I silently told myself. With my mom lying beside me, I felt protected. That morning, we drank coffee and had a delicious breakfast, a pastry from a local farmers market to be exact.

A couple of hours later, we hopped into the car and headed west towards our next destination, Sedona Arizona. Now, before I progress, I’d like to inform you that if you want to view scenery that will make you cry, or just stop and stare, do yourself a favor and go to Sedona. Sedona is known for its red rocks. These red rocks will take your breath away, quite literally. Mom and I decided that we didn’t have time to spend all day at Sedona because we still wanted to go to the Grand Canyon that same day. We decided to go on a 5 mile hike through the red rocks of Sedona and then leave to head north to the Canyons. Sedona was beyond spectacular. In fact, it was so spectacular that I would fall walking upwards towards the mountain. I was clearly distracted due to being mesmerized by the sights. As we approached the top of the cliff, an array of red rocks came into sight. I took a deep breath and blew it out with a smile. I didn’t say a word. I was letting my emotional instinct take over. After our hike in Sedona, we ate some delicious ice cream for lunch, I held a snake and then we headed to the Grand Canyon.

The Grand Canyon is a place that everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime. It’s definitely worth seeing. In my personal opinion, it’s known for it’s kindred spirit — (if you know what I mean). Ha. The beautiful thing about the Grand Canyon is that each rock formation has its own unique structure. Depending on the where the sun hits the rock, could make or break the beauty. It’s hard to describe, but it goes hand in hand with lighting that makes your skin look either beautiful or downright awful (boring). Because the Grand Canyon is a major tourist attraction, it’s hard to go without seeing loads of people there. If I were to be there alone, with my mom and no one else in sight, it would have been a different experience, more intimate and heart felt. Unfortunately,  that wasn’t the case. The chances of that happening were and will probably always be slim to none. That’s okay though. It was still spectacular. I’m happy for my mom that she got to experience the Grand Canyon, as it has been on her bucket list for a long time now.

The next day, I woke up exhausted and a little bit anxious. This was the day we would drive from the Grand Canyon to LA. The night before, we had stayed at a very cheap and sketchy motel in the middle of nowhere. I’m not exactly sure how this motel received a 4 star rating when it was more like a -10 star motel. This is partially the reason why I didn’t get much sleep that night. We woke up at 7:00am to hit the road early.  I mostly drove the entire way from the Grand Canyon to LA – except for the last 50 or miles or so. My mom drove us into LA. As we entered LA, I was full of anxiety because I realized how bad the traffic was. I asked myself, “Will I be able to do this?” My mom patted me on the back and reassured me that I would be just fine. She smacked some sense into me and told me to breathe. As we pulled up to my brothers apartment, there he was, waving to me and welcoming me to my new city, the city of angels.

 

Leave a Reply

