24 Like Never Before, Part 1

I’ve realized that 24 has been quite a year for me (so far). It’s not because “cool” things have happened to me, but because my thoughts, dreams and perspectives have changed a lot in the past 6 months. Driving across the country is something I had anticipated doing when I was 40 or 50, but definitely not at the ripe old age of 24.

One day, I dreamt of driving across the country and exploring the golden lands. Little did I know this dream would shortly become a reality. But, it wasn’t all cake and pie.

I fought with myself day-in and day-out about what I wanted, versus what my family and friends wanted for me. The decisions that I’ve made over the past 4-6 months have been a journey of heart ache, triumph, battles between the heart and the mind and realizing that I really do only have one life to live. Boom! There, it hit me. “I need to do this for me,” I told myself. I have to stop listening to other people’s opinions regarding what I “should” or “shouldn’t” do and start living my own dream. Metaphorically speaking, I have to keep swimming in the ocean, no matter how many times the waves knock me down.

On June 7th 2017, I will be departing the East Coast to drive out to the West Coast with my mom.  This will be a wonderful opportunity to bond with her and see more of the world, which I don’t do enough of, especially considering how much I love to travel. We’re hoping to stop at these specific locations and do a little sightseeing along the way — Nashville TN, Austin TX, Sedona AZ, The Grand Canyon (south rim), and perhaps some other places as well. Yes, we’re taking the south route. We will be driving no more than 12 hours each day to give us time to recuperate. Mom and I have downloaded podcasts and other forms of entertainment on our cellular devices — (did I really just call my cell phone a “cellular device”)? Yes, I did. Okay then.

None of this has actually hit me yet, which is somewhat surprising considering I’ve been so excited for the past week. In other words, I haven’t experienced that “Wow, I’m actually doing this” moment. Nevertheless, I’m sure that moment will arrive June 7th – or let’s hope so at least.

I’m sure my love for travel will take care of the high expectations I have for this road trip and overall experience.

Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

