A Shift in Perspective

“Nobody got where they are today by living for tomorrow” – Tom Wilson.

The above quote is one that I will vicariously live my life by for the remainder of my time here on this earth. Living in the present moment can be hard for many. School, work and social life can often consume your worries, no? I believe this to be rather normal. But, instead of saying “Nobody got where they are today by living for tomorrow,” how about we concentrate on saying “Focusing on today will get us where we want to be tomorrow.”

I have seen and experienced worriers. In fact, I am one. I have worked, consciously, to understand why I worry. Most often, I can’t come up with a definitive answer. But, when I do find an answer, it’s usually an original answer. “Did I do this right” or “I’m late” are the kind of daily worries that occupy most people. That being said, I no longer feel alone. “Wait, but, what if I want to feel alone?” I mused.  We would think it would be nice not to be alone in our worries. However, I don’t want to worry just because everyone else worries, right? I once heard the saying, “don’t let your mother’s worries become your worries.” I wholeheartedly agree with this statement and find this to be a very true accusation.

Swaying uncomfortably between the spheres of present and future, I find myself lost in the moment. Since recent revelations of self-awakening, my newfound appetite is to enjoy the present moment for what it is, rather than what I want it to be.

A few days ago, I went in for an interview at the Mystic Marriott, located in Mystic, CT. Before I arrived, I was nervous, but not as nervous as I had anticipated. This is due to the fact that I realized, in the moment, how I was feeling and thought to myself, “Is worrying going to do you any good? Worrying is not going to change reality, so stop it!” This was beauty beyond description because I could finally fight my nerves, and win. Nobody has control over the future, so why waste your energy on worrying? “A day of worry is more exhausting than a day of work.” – Anonymous.

As I rest my head on my hands, close my eyes and silently think about the thoughts that are racing through my mind, I suddenly realize that I would be much happier if I spent half my time living in the the moment. Most people think that worrying is pondering over what’s next, and for some, if there even is a next.  My question to you is this: How can we tell the difference between worrying and thinking? Unfortunately, I can only provide you with my answer.

When I am mulling my thoughts over, I smile because I am genuinely a happy person. Music takes me there often. On the other hand, when I am worried and/or stressed, I notice that I sigh a lot.  See the difference??

Being mindful about how you are feeling in the moment, can help you to naturally realize when you are on edge. Once you have trained your brain to think a new and improved way, your “no worries mindset” will automatically come into play. We can’t change the past, we can’t predict the future, we can only live each day to its fullest. This statement alone is a prescription for a happy life. While I will continue to worry, at least I have the knowledge on how to become mindful when I am worried. This “knowledge,” if you will, will guide me through the rest of my life.

I want to be forever happy. I never want to hear, even the softest whispers of jealousy, deep within my soul, at another’s happiness. So, let’s do the world and ourselves a favor. Concentrate on today, so tomorrow will lean towards a better future.

BEAUTIFUL

Leave a Reply

